My Favorite Childhood Toy

My favorite childhood toy was my American Girl Doll. I got it for my 6th birthday and I was beyond excited.

I remember my birthday party when my parents gave me gifts. I unwrap the present. I see a big cardboard box with a shiny face peeking through. Her big brown eyes. Her soft silky hair. I was so happy because I have been begging for this doll forever.

From my 6th birthday party all the way to around 10 years old my doll and I were inseparable. We went everywhere together; I would braid her hair, we would “talk” and watch TV together and then when it was time to go to bed we would snuggle up and my bed and doze off.

I remember in 1st grade I would take her to school with me and one day my teacher took her away. What do I do? I began screaming at the top of my lungs and crying.  I told my teacher I was going to beat him up if he didn’t give her back. After about 30 minutes he returns her.

One tragic day in fourth grade my doll drowned in the lake. We were enjoying ourselves a nice boat ride and then she jumped off the boat. I jump in to save her, but it is too late. She is gone.

One thought on “My Favorite Childhood Toy

  1. This is really good! I can actually see you with your doll. It’s HILARIOUS when you are talking about your first grade experience. This is super fantastic! 😉

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *